Freeware: PDF Converter + Merger

Standard

…once you get into college/uni, PDF files are you best buddy!
be it lecture notes, reports, assignments or coursework, you’ll be asked to send it in in pdf format – that is if you have to submit it electronically of course! haha

******************* PDF Converter ****************************

Before this, as I was using the old Microsoft Office, I used freeware to convert from mword to pdf file. My favourite?

DOPDF


how to use it? well, when you want to convert any files; doesn’t matter from Paint or Microsoft Word, it works in everything! I do use it a lot especially when I want my codes to retain its colour (copy paste from Notepad++ if you’re writing C in it, the various colours for comments, loops etc are lost) so the way out is, make a pdf of it, then copy paste from the pdf into Microsoft Word 🙂
Kudos to Arif for letting me know about pdf retain the colours when copy paste into Microsoft Word. I nearly bang my head when I had to write my report, and when I need to include the codes that I was using, it looks ugly being all black haha
Pdf format is awesomesause!

OPENOFFICE

I wasn’t a fan of Microsoft Office back then; so I was using OpenOffice for a year or two
I really like it, and the best thing about it back then was.. there is an option to save as pdf file
As everyone has Microsoft Office 2007, I don’t think anyone would go for OpenOffice because of that, right? Microsoft Office.. well Microsoft Word 2007 has that option now w00t!
AWESOME! 😀 it’s FREE! It’s similar to Microsoft Office

MICROSOFT WORD 2007


The option to save as a pdf file is not included when you first install it
I never know about it before until my dad mentioned about it. So I googled a bit since it got me curious and bam! found it!
By the way, I highlighted the wrong option haha – that is if I wanted to use Acrobat Writer
The one installed would be the PDF or XPS

I personally find that it’s better if you have a few of those that I mentioned (or something else) because in my case, sometimes MWord pdf screw up the formatting that I used for my file such as, lines disappear etc
Things like that do happen 🙂 Well.. I need doPDF and MWord since I’m working of various programs/softwares haha

******************* PDF Merger ****************************

Anyway, isn’t it annoying to have several pdf files when it could be combined into one?
Here goes something AWESOME again 😀

I was googling for it since my lecture notes come in week; meaning I have a set of lecture note every week. Wouldn’t it be nice to have all in one? By that, I don’t need to open each files when I move on into the next set of lecture notes, right?

MERGEPDF.NET


If you have super speed internet, then this would be an option for you
you simply upload the files, it will merge it; and then you’ll need to download the merged file

PDFSAM


It looks nice, clean interface and it also provides a tutorial on how to use it haha
pretty handy, I’m loving it! 😀

PDF-REDIRECT

It got pretty nice reviews/feedbacks from people that used it
I wanted to use this, but PDFSam interface is more to my liking hehe
but anyway, it’s an alternative to use 🙂

If you’re using something else, feel free to share 🙂
There are always pros and cons with these freeware; some got extra functions some don’t 😛
but nevertheless, it does what it says

13 responses »

  1. I would like to share another freeware to all of you.

    I occasionally found AnyBizSoft PDF to Word Converter is giving away for free until March, 1th. I just got one of myself. So awesome. It works well too in converting PDF to Word format. My PDF files with complicated format, lots of images and hyperlinks are preserved completely in the generated Word files. BYW, it supports encrypted PDF files conversion. Hope you like it too.
    Just go get one for yourself soon. It worths $29.95.

    • cool! thanks for letting me know
      i’m hoping the “free” part would last long lol

      i do find it not worth to spend some money on it as i personally don’t use it that much

      there’s always another way round to get files from pdf to word; the hard way is highlight the text and paste into word 😛
      images? take a screen shot, crop it in word 😛

  2. Yes,Office 2007 provides a plug-on named Office 2007 Add-in that allows people save office formats like excel,word to PDF format.And some PDF Creator can aslo do it well. And on the other hand,we can convert PDF to Word using AnyBizSoft PDF Converter, which can automatically convert PDF to Word,ppt,text and html.
    http://www.anypdftools.com/pdf-converter.html#201
    You can also have a try and hope you like it.

  3. haha i didn’t know ms words got pdf format! lame me! 😀

    btw, i want to learn a lot of thing from you. is it possible even though i’m using canon?

    i need to know more about aperture and shutter…

  4. Thank you for the info Adila.. Ni org yg expert sikit, kita mahu tanya lah – Mcm mana mahu crack pdf file yg ada password? I mean yg ada copyright protection – tak boleh copy & paste? Maybe u can help me with this problem… mahu plagiat sikit!

    • i try carik gak way round utk prob tu; tp still xjmp2 how to do it 😦

      …slalu what i buat, i ambik screen shot of it hehe
      tp klo nak the whole page of it.. err that would be very leceh to do

      i’ll let u know if i find out how 🙂

Leave a Reply

